Research Database Links from OPLIN

To access these databases you must be using an Internet workstation within an Ohio public library or you must have a valid card from a participating Ohio library. If you are not in an Ohio public library when you select a database, you will be prompted for your library card number.

 

Note: Some databases are not available through home access. For more detailed information and an online selection assistant, go to: OPLIN database links.

   
Abandoned Underground Mine Locator -- By entering an address or clicking on a geographic area, website users can create a map with the location of known underground mines and mine openings. Mine information forms and individual mine maps are also available.
Academic and Professional Journal Databases from EBSCOhost - For scholarly research and information needs, explore this collection of academic and professional journals from EBSCOhost.
All EBSCOhost Databases - EBSCOhost is home to the following databases: Academic Search Premier, Alt Health Watch, Business Source Premier, Computer Source: Consume Edition, ERIC, Health Source: Consumer Edition, Health Source: Nursing & Academic, MAS FullTEXT Ultra, MasterFILE Premier, MEDLINE, Middle Search Plus, Newspaper Source, Primary Search, Professional Development Collection, Psychology & Behavioral Science Collection, Religion & Philosophy Collection, Sociological Collection and Vocational Search & Career Collection.
Art and Architecture Database - This resource contains more than 80,000 digital images, from the Art Museum Image Consortium (AMICO).
Ancestry.com - (In Library Use Only) This site contains historical records, stories and publications, and photos and maps.  Documents can be printed.
Auto Repair Reference Center (Access is restricted to subscribing libraries.) - Complete automotive repair information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. Approximately 23,000 vehicles covered from 1954 to the present.
Business and Career Databases from EBSCOhost - If you're looking for information on business or career-related topics, check out this collection of databases from EBSCOhost.
Health and Medical Databases from EBSCOhost - If you're looking for health or medical-related information or articles, check out this collection of databases from EBSCOhost.
HeritageQuest (ProQuest) - HeritageQuest Online provides libraries with a unique, growing collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. With over 25,000 books, the entire U.S. Federal Census, and other expanding collections, HeritageQuest Online gives any Puskarich Library card holder the chance to tap in to one of the largest collections of genealogy material in the country.
Kids Search - For kids grades K - 8.
Learning Express - LearningExpress Library is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons—students and adult learners—succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results.
Literature Databases - Full-text, searchable works available online to supplement your library's print collections. Poetry, drama and fiction are included.
Middle Search (Grades 4-10) from EBSCOhost - Late elementary and middle school students should look here for their research needs.
netLibrary - Access any of the 2800 eBook titles in the OPLIN collection at netLibrary. eBooks are full-text electronic versions of published books that library patrons can search, borrow, read, and return over the Internet.
NetWellness (Free on the web) - A non-profit consumer health Web site that provides high-quality information created and evaluated by medical and health professional faculty at the University of Cincinnati, Case Western Reserve University, and The Ohio State University.
NewsBank - A full-text news resource containing comprehensive coverage of current issues and events from 17 Ohio newspapers and 13 national newspapers.
About:Books - This allows readers of all ages to use a favorite author or title to discover new books to read.
Ohio Capitol Connection (In-Library Only) - Search and retrieve the full text of all House and Senate bills introduced or passed in the Ohio General Assembly from 1987 to the present.
Ohio Historical Society Searchable Databases (Free on the web) - Includes Ohio-based information, Ohio Fundamental Documents, Ohio Newspaper Index, and more.
Oxford Reference Online - Oxford Reference Online brings together 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works - containing well over 60,000 pages - into a single cross-searchable resource.
Primary Search (Grades K-6) from EBSCOhost - Elementary school students should click here to go to Searchasaurus, a research tool from EBSCOhost.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps - The Digital Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps provides a searchable interface for locating historical Maps of Ohio towns and cities. These maps were digitized from microfilm copies by Chadwyck-Healey, a Bell & Howell Information and Learning company. The searchable database is a joint project of OPLIN and OhioLINK.
Student Resource Center - Middle and high school students should look here to find a wealth of research tools.
Wilson's Biographies Reference Bank - H. W. Wilson's collection of 120,000+ biographies from over 60 reference titles, thousands of biographical magazine articles, and over 32,000 printable images. Search by name, profession, ethnic background, place of birth, and more.
Worldbook Encyclopedia Online - Search Worldbook Encyclopedia
red dotAlso available in Kids' Version and Spanish Version.